Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 14th, 2008

Such is knitting…

Friday I made another Fair Isle hat, this one worsted weight and sized for a four year old, by request blue and green with circles, no earl flaps. I adapted this knitty pattern: using Mission Falls 1824 wool, I cast on 80 st on a size 8 needle and did half the chart. Since I made it mostly while I had the recipient over, I was able to try it on him for size, so I knew I only had room for half the pattern repeat, and that I had to start the decreases 4 1/4″ from the cast-on edge. I followed my usual hat decrease pattern, every other row decreasing after 1 fewer stitches to make the groovy spiral, decreasing every 10 stitches the first row.

My own kid loved it, but wanted his to be a green hat with white diamonds. I nearly finished that one last night, but when weaving ends I cut two ends I hadn’t woven yet! Luckily, they were at the crown of the hat. I experimented with pulling the stitches tight to provide me with enough yarn to spit-splice, but of course that did not work. Picked out the crown, and now it’s back on the needles. Another hour and it will be done (again!).

This has to be the stupidest knitting mistake I’ve ever made.

The Fair Isle on both hats looks great, though.

I figure I’m learning two things: 1) I can learn new things, good things. I’m more confident about the Fair Isle on EPS now that I can do it with two hands. 2) I can learn new dumb mistakes, too.

Such is knitting!

Read Full Post »