Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 9th, 2008

WIP Wednesday

Still no camera, so I’ll just describe things. Is that hideously boring? I’ll make the descriptions short.

On the needles:

1) EPS. I have knit the body to the armpits, and must now recalculate the sleeves. The color is lovely, and I’m maybe thinking about steeking it after all, after I saw a very pretty cardigan in More Big Girl Knits. That book is full of gorgeous sweaters!

2) Chullo Hats: I made a brown Chullo hat with cream fair isle diamonds (which I charted myself, go, me!). I’ve already given it to the recipient. He loved it, which made me very happy. I’m now knitting another one for his brother. I’m using Berocco Ultra Alpaca, and it’s fantastic, smooth, soft, and blocked like a champion. The hats are based on this free pattern I found on Ravelry, but I’m using 100 stitches on a size 7 needle, and doing ten decrease points after 6.5 inches. The second hat is black, which makes it impossible to see. I ripped back to the earflaps today to fix several mistakes. It should go really fast, once I get everything established.

3) Messed about with a kippah pattern. My sister and brother-in-law are Jewish, and her husband asked if I could knit him one some time. Fun, but it turned out with a little nipple thing at the crown. I think the problem would be fixed by increasing every round at the crown, instead of every other round. I tried to block the nipple thingy into submission, which of course didn’t work. I think maybe when it’s dry I will pick out the crown and reknit just that part, just for fun. Although it would probably be faster to rip out the entire thing, since I knit it top down…Or just chuck it and knit a different one of other yarn…Does anyone have a kippah pattern they like?

Read Full Post »