Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 3rd, 2008

Random Thursday

Some random things for Random Thursday:

It’s really nice to have the car problem settled. My husband and I both do a lot of research before making big decisions, so it took a lot of time and discussion before we felt we could commit to driving a natural gas car. There are definitely trade-offs: wee trunk space, 200-250 mile range, drastically reduced availability of refueling stations. Only with careful planning and sustained good luck could you drive this car out of the metro area. Because of availability and cost of natural gas, Utah is one of the only states in the country it’s really possible to drive this car, so we’d have to sell it should my husband’s career necessitate a move. We had to closely consider whether or not we were up to the challenges. I feel good about the decision–we’ve discussed, researched, calculated, and put money down, and now I don’t have to think about it any more. I’m feeling great about it!

I’ve made almost all the reservations for our two week Canadian Rockies Vacation. Good thing we started planning this one so early! Based on my Tuesday experience reserving a couple of nights in Jasper National Park, I don’t think I would have got the campground in Lake Louise if I hadn’t reserved it this morning. The dates for reserving the Canadian parks are staggered throughout April. I reserved Jasper on the first day, but at night, and had to settle for a different campground than I’d initially planned. This morning, the early bird got the Lake Louise campground reservation! Wheew!

I didn’t knit at all yesterday. My right hand felt kind of off, so I didn’t feel like knitting. I am not sure abstaining from knitting really helps, though. Am going to have to ask the doctor… Meanwhile, I read this editorial by David Brooks of the New York Times. He’s discussing excellence in pitching, but you could really apply it to mastery of any craft. I am still mulling it over, but am most struck by what he says about practicing your craft for 10,000 hours before achieving mastery. That’s three hours every day for ten years. Pick up sticks, Heather!

I’m so close to done with the body of my EPS, and I can’t find my old sleeve calculations. This is probably a blessing in disguise; it can never hurt to revisit the calculations! I am going to try on, wash, block, and try on the body before casting on the sleeves, though. Sally Melville mentioned that she blocks her sweaters at the armpits, so I’m going to try it. What do you think?

Read Full Post »